Directors appointed at 10 IIMs by the Government of India

Directors appointed at 10 IIMs by the Government of IndiaThe Government of India has appointed directors of 10 IIMs including IIM Bangalore, which is one of the old IIMs. On February 10, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi approved the appointments.

Prof. Raghuram is faculty member at IIM Ahmedabad and at present he is the Chairman of Public Systems Group (PSG) at the institute. He has also held the position of Dean (faculty) at IIM A from 2013 to 2015. His specialisations are infrastructure and transport systems. He will succeed Prof. Sushil Vachani, former Director of IIM Bangalore.


The IIMs and their new Directors are as follows:


New Directors at 10 IIMs

S. No.


Director Appointed


IIM Bangalore

Prof. G Raghuram


IIM Bodh Gaya

Prof. Ganesan Kannabiran


IIM Nagpur

Prof. L S Murty


IIM Raipur

Prof. Bharat Bhaskar


IIM Ranchi

Prof. Shailendra Singh


IIM Rohtak

Dr. Dheeraj Sharma


IIM Sambalpur

Prof. Mahadeo Prasad Jaiswal


IIM Sirmaur

Prof. Neelu Rohmetra


IIM Trichy

Dr. Bhimaraya Metri


IIM Visakhapatnam

Prof. Chandrasekhar Mylavarapu 

Incidentally, Prof. Neelu Rohmetra is the first female IIM director at IIM Sirmaur. At present she is the Head of International Centre for Cross-Cultural Research and Human Resource Management at Jammu University.


Prof. Bharat Bhaskar was the interim Director at IIM Lucknow in 2015. At present he is the Information Technology Systems Professor at IIM L. Another IIM L professor of Human Resource Management, Prof. Shailendra Singh has been appointed as IIM Ranchi Director. He is also the Dean (Research) of the institute.


Prof. Kannabiran is the acting Director of NIT Trichy. He also holds the position of Centre for Entrepreneurship Development and Incubation at NIT Trichy.


Dr. Dheeraj Sharma is another professor from IIM Ahmedabad who has been appointed as an IIM Director. His specialisations are Marketing and Organisational Behaviour.


IIM Bangalore Professor of Operations Planning and Operations Strategy, Prof. L S Murty is joining IIM Nagpur as the first director of the institute.


Prof. Chandrasekhar Mylavarapu is the Professor and Director of Governance & Performance at the Administrative Staff College of India, Hyderabad. He will be joining as the first Director of IIM Visakhapatnam.


Dr. Bhimaraya Metri, director appointed for IIM Trichy is the Dean of L&T institute of Project Management. Prof. Jaiswal, who has been appointed as the IIM Sambalpur Director is the professor of information management at MDI Gurgaon.


The tenure of the new Directors is five years or till the age of 65. Despite the appointment, four out of 20 IIMs, namely IIM Jammu, IIM Amritsar, IIM Udaipur and IIM Kozhikode still lack Directors for over two years now.


Also Read

Union Cabinet approves IIM Bill 2017; IIMs may grant MBA Degree soon


Stay tuned to for more news and updates on IIMs.

Related News

Suggested Reading: IIMs