CAT 2017 result may get delayed as IIM expert panel reviews objections

CAT 2017 result may get delayed as IIM expert panel reviews objectionsCAT 2017 result may get delayed as IIM expert panel reviews objections - CAT 2017 result is expected to be delayed as the announcement is now pending review of doubts raised by aspirants on the CAT question paper and answer key. An expert panel constituted by the Indian Institutes of Management is examining the objection raised by CAT takers. Earlier, IIM Lucknow which is conducting CAT this year had indicated that the CAT result would be announced by the second week of January 2018. Accordingly, multiple media reports speculate the date of result declaration between January 5 and 9.

Latest: CAT 2017 Result Annonced


The IIM Lucknow, however, is tight-lipped on the exact CAT 2017 result date. According to CAT convenor Prof. Neeraj Dwivedi, the review process is on and the result will only get published after the thorough examination of all the doubts that have been officially submitted to IIMs by the test takers. Prof. Dwivedi told Careers360, “As per the process, the objections received against CAT 2017 questions will be examined by expert panels. If there are any changes in answer keys or questions due to this process, the same will be communicated through official CAT website at an appropriate time.”

CAT Pathfinder
Know your call chances for top B-schools through CAT


As of now, there has been no update on the status of CAT 2017 answer key. Hence, it is likely that the result may get further delayed. According to IIMs, if the objections are found valid by IIM expert panel, remedial measures will be taken by IIMs for all the candidates and not just for those candidates who raised objections to those questions.

Hence, declaration of the result before the announcement of the decision by IIM Expert Panel would be redundant. Even CAT 2017 takers, especially those who have submitted objections are anxious to know about the final decision. The announcement of CAT result sans the decision on objections would lead to more ambiguity regarding the credibility of the scores.


Schedule of CAT result declaration over past few years


CAT Result Date

CAT 2016

January 9, 2017

CAT 2015

January 8, 2016

CAT 2014

December 27, 2014

CAT 2013

January 14, 2014

CAT 2012

January 9, 2013

Once the CAT results are declared, IIM Lucknow will also send SMS to CAT takers informing about their result. The SMS will contain the overall score and percentile secured by the candidates. They can download the score card by logging in through CAT 2017 credential.

Till last year, CAT was marred in controversies and there was lack of transparency owing to the absence of answer keys and question paper. Careers360 has been raising this issue over last three years and urging IIMs to release CAT Question Paper and Answer keys to bring transparency into the testing system. IIM Lucknow, the conducting body of CAT 2017 has addressed the issue for the first time. “The decision to release the Question Paper / Answer Keys and making provision to register objections is a step towards bringing more transparency into CAT going forward. Since 2015, the number of slots in CAT have been reduced to just two slots, making it feasible to do this,” Prof. Dwivedi told Careers360.

CAT 2017 was conducted on November 26 in 142 cities across India. As many as 1,99,632 candidates out of 2,31,067 registrations had appeared for the exam. On December 7, IIM Lucknow released the CAT 2017 question paper and answer key and also invited objections to be filled till December 9, 2017. However, IIMs did not announce any specific date either for the release of final decision by IIM expert panel, or the CAT 2017 result.


Also Read

CAT 2017 Result: IIM expert panel to examine CAT question paper and answer key objections

CAT Cutoff 2017

First Published On : 06 Jan 2018 06:06 PM IST

Related Articles

Suggested Reading: CAT|Result of CAT



Join this QNA topic to get updates about latest happenings about the exam!

  • 13071 Joined
  • 1993 Questions
User Pic

Gaurav Varghese 10 hours ago

Gaurav Vargheses picture
Gaurav VargheseLast Seen: 9 hours 45 min agoJoined on: 19-May-2017Education Interest: MBAEducation Level: Graduate & Above

I have completed my and have 12 months work ex in educational sector. I wish to pursue my Mba.Will i be able to crack the PI

should I change my job or continue my job as educational background and work ex sector is completely different

Answer (1)

User Pic

Akshay Kadam Expert 5 hours ago

Akshay Kadams picture
Akshay KadamLast Seen: 3 hours 27 min agoJoined on: 03-Sep-2017Education Interest: ManagementEducation Level: Graduate & Above
Gaurav yes definitely you can crack out your interview of any b-school. It all depends on how you actually answer their questions of various fields. It's an unnecessary argument that you have don...Read More

Chavali Phani 10 hours ago

Chavali Phanis picture
Chavali PhaniLast Seen: 9 hours 54 min agoJoined on: 03-Mar-2018Education Interest: ManagementEducation Level: Graduate & Above

If a candid got 97.98%percentile in CAT will get admission in Jamnalal bajaj ...where he stands as per MH-CET 2018

Answers (2)

User Pic

Pankaj Goyal 8 hours ago

Pankaj Goyals picture
Pankaj GoyalLast Seen: 7 hours 38 min agoJoined on: 05-Feb-2018Education Interest: Degree ProgrammesEducation Level: Graduate & Above
Hello Chavali, Yes you are eligible for JBIMS Mumbai through CAT, as its demand 95+ percentile cutoff... Whereas Chances through MAH CET is less because it demands marks between 135-140 (that mak...Read More

View All Answers


Ashwin 10 hours ago

Ashwins picture
AshwinLast Seen: 10 hours 13 min agoJoined on: 28-Mar-2016Education Interest: ManagementEducation Level: In Graduation

What percentile should i score in cat'19 if i have got 9.8 cgpa in xth,79% in xiith and 8.8 gpa in ug cse

Answer (1)


Neha goel 10 hours ago

Neha goels picture
Neha GoelLast Seen: 9 hours 22 min agoJoined on: 07-Mar-2018Education Interest: ManagementEducation Level: In Graduation
Hello AshwinAccording to your exams score mentioned above you are eligible for giving CAT 19.Common Admission Test  is the computer based and is the largest MBA entrance in India for admission to...Read More
User Pic

Samyak Khakse 13 hours ago

Samyak Khakses picture
Samyak KhakseLast Seen: 12 hours 18 min agoJoined on: 27-Jan-2018Education Interest: EngineeringEducation Level: In Graduation

Hello! I've got 67 % I belongs SC cat. (Mah.) Can U please tell me wch college I wud get at this score? Do I take addmisn or try for nxt yr?

Hello! I've got 67 % I belongs SC cat. (Mah.) Can U please tell me wch college I wud get at this score? Do I take admission or try for nxt y

Answer (1)

User Pic

Manisha Gupta 13 hours ago

Manisha Guptas picture
Manisha GuptaLast Seen: 8 hours 25 min agoJoined on: 08-Sep-2016Education Interest: MedicineEducation Level: Graduate & Above
According this score you can apply the colleges for Durgadevi Saraf Institute of Management Studies, Malad, Mumbai Vidyalankar Institute of Technology, Wadala, Mumbai, Atharva Educational Trust, Athar...Read More

Pradip Unni 16 hours ago

Pradip Unnis picture
Pradip UnniLast Seen: 12 hours 58 min agoJoined on: 18-Jan-2018Education Interest: DesignEducation Level: Class 12

I can't see the CAT and GAT scores in this year's NIFT written test results.

Answer (1)

Aditya Srivastavas picture
Aditya SrivastavaLast Seen: 1 hour 37 min agoJoined on: 22-Mar-2018Education Interest: CompetitionEducation Level: Graduate & Above
Hi Pradip,Thanks for your question, Results will be declared on the official site National Institute of Fashion Technology around the end of March or beginning of April. It is also avai...Read More